Bragging about sin

My daughter  saw Trump’s speech at the Republican convention and called him the Antichrist. Now, I don’t believe in the kind of end-times scenario that this idea of the Antichrist involves, and she doesn’t either (I think she saw some Left Behind movies when she was young and got the image that way), but Trump seems anti-Christ in another, more important sense, that he has spent his life bragging about things that Christianity identifies as sin.  He believes in pride, revenge, greed, and stealing other men’s wives, and brags about it. His locker room talk wasn’t just about “getting laid” (I heard plenty of that when I was younger) it was about using position, wealth, fame, and power for sexual advantage.  It’s one thing to, like Bill Clinton,  give in to sexual urges in a position of power, and believe me that was bad enough.  (It was costly to both Al Gore and Hillary in their campaigns). But I am inclined to think he was repentant (though with a politician it is always possible to suspect motives). But boasting about evil is, to my mind, a deeper depravity.

Leave a Reply

